Day 11–Epic Fail #1

Today was an interesting day, riding from work, doing a nice slow speed I start to hear a rattle. All of a sudden bikes slowing, dropped clutch, pushed into neutral followed by killing it. On a closer look:

IMAG0442

Don’t worry that arm is not rusty, its just called driving in snow. As you can see chain has come off and the rear sprocket has come free, which caused the chain to rattle off, out off. Out of the four present bolts only one was on the rear sprocket. My guess is that the bolts rattled off similar to the carb issue. I waited for recovery vehicle to arrive who took me home with the bike as they could not repair it on roadside. Getting home by 21:00 my first instinct was to get the rear wheel off. On closer inspection the hub has taken some damage (few cracks by bolt holes), which I can only speculate was caused by nuts and bolts rattling loose and then putting strain on the hub.

IMAG0446

IMAG0447

Not nice at all from the pictures, however it has lead me to create a rule for this bike;

Since my breakdown cover allows me to only make four claims for assistance in a year, then I will only give this bike four chances! Oh, by the way its already down to three chances within under two weeks.

So now the bikes going to be sitting there till the weekend due to no rear hub, luckily the chain and other sprocket are just fine, but I have now had to spend around £25 for a new hub, which again I will replace the rear nuts with nylon locking nuts as this is getting somewhat of a joke, will be doing the same for the front end as well, to ensure I no longer have to deal with this again.

About Alex

Web designer
This entry was posted in Lexmoto XTR-S and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment