Maintenance–Rear Hub

Weather been poor but my hub arrived finally, i took the standard nuts off and replaced them with m8 locking nuts as two nuts were on pretty tight, but two came off quite easy of the hub. Sadly I was working in the rain and dark so no pictures, but here’s the hub.

IMAG0452

Since the wheel was off, I noticed the rear bearing started to seize up slightly on the back wheel itself and not on the hub, this got treated and the whole thing covered in multipurpose grease I use on cars to act as a barrier and to aid in lubrication. Another thing was, I was thinking of going 14T sprocket, however I’ve been swayed towards 16T to ease the back wheel and the engine seems to now have a nice mid range, so I plan to utilize this. I have fitted the 16T at the same time as the rear wheel. For those having issues sourcing 14T and a better price for a 16T sprocket as the dealer’s want £10, get a sprocket off a Honda CBF 125 08-10 registration, its a direct fit! Here’s the 14T and 16T I ordered.

IMAG0450

I also jetted the carb as quick as I could for a 110 size as the 105 was pretty good, but with exhaust and air filter I was getting a slightly lean flame from using colortune, will do a check tomorrow. Maybe a 108 is needed but early days. Here’s the stock 94, 105 and 110 (Mikuni) in order from left to right.

IMAG0454

I have seen a few questions:

Q. What diameter is the rear bolt that goes through the wheel

A. 14mm, but if you plan on changing the spacers think twice as they are different shapes at both sides to accommodate the hub and brake calliper, so they vary

Q. What size nuts are on the carb

A. M6

About Alex

Web designer
This entry was posted in Lexmoto XTR-S and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment