New Body Colour Part 1 of 2

Looking at the bodywork, I absolutely hate the stickers and even more so the fact that the stickers have lacquered over. So I have several options:

  • Heat them up, peel back carefully, polish/buff out
  • Peel back, repaint entire bodywork
  • Vinyl wrap straight over

I decided, I have no idea how successfully peeling back and buffing out would work out, as my concern was causing any further damage to paint work and creating any bubbles, the second option was feasible but required some time. So the last option being not the best looking, but from my view the quickest. So I decided to strip the bike back and went and purchased some vinyl in matte black and got started:

IMAG0477

Panels were quick and easy to remove, however the wrapping took more time than expected, unlike car roofs and bonnets that I’ve used this stuff on, the motorcycle panels have holes and many bends, consuming much of my time. So my initial idea of it would be quick failed. The other downside the vinyl still shows an indent of the sticker which looks tacky. Non the less I thought oh well might as well finish it.

IMAG0478

IMAG0479

Then I ran out of material, but I decided to remove kick start lever, rear pegs, rear rack mounts & handle (replaced bolts with A2 stainless steel). Here’s how it lookes not completed with two bottom panels and front fender to go.

IMAG0480

About Alex

Web designer
This entry was posted in Lexmoto XTR-S and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Body Colour Part 1 of 2

  1. Lawrence says:

    Nice blog man, interesting seeing the progress!

  2. Alex says:

    Thanks, really appreciate the feedback and support!

Leave a comment