1947km Service

I’m racking up the miles and decided to do a service today, oil was in much better condition than I thought, the sump magnet had small metal fillings so it was doing its job and the strainer oil filter was exceptionally clean. So all in all I’m pleased!

One thing I did do on this service was, the chain has significantly started stretching, in 3 days it stretched two links and by the end of the week it was loose and worries of tightening it up could cause it to snap from more stretch, but leaving it loose could result in the chain coming off. So an order was placed for D.I.D. Heavy Duty (HD) 428 chain, with 122 links. Which is now on and running much more smoothly, I didn’t realise how much of a difference a chain could make until now, transmission is so much smoother. One thing I may add, is shop around as plenty of chains of high quality can be picked up around the £20 mark.

Also inspected the oil system today as I am planning to fit an oil cooler in the weeks to come since summer is coming up and lower temps are a bonus along with a slightly bigger oil capacity will also allow less frequent oil changes hopefully, especially if I go ahead and get more aggressive cams or a big bore kit down the line.

About Alex

Web designer
This entry was posted in Lexmoto XTR-S and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1947km Service

  1. Ryan says:

    Do you service it yourself or take it to a shop?

    • Alex says:

      Sure do, local dealers want £80-100 which is the same price as a service on a bigger brand bike as a yamaha, honda, etc… So I can’t justify the price, especially when with the bigger brands you want to keep up with servicing to keep their book value as high as possible, with these chinese bikes the logbook history doesn’t really effect the book value so I find its easiest to just do it myself. Especially when bikes in general are much easier to service and repair than cars, and for about £25 I can get easily 5L of oil and several filters which would last 5 services.

Leave a comment