What happened? Seriously!? Where’s the updates?

Don’t worry I still have the same bike (3500km approximately), still going strong even with the abuse its enduring including me having to come flying off of it. Will be trying to finish the panel work off, but sadly weather and work commitments have been taking up time.

The good news is, some minor progress, I think I have finally found a kit that matches the shape and design of our head to increase the bore (156cc to be exact), sadly I couldn’t find any bigger heads from ebay on a worldwide search, nor in the states. I had to go to china, sadly this is a lengthy process and at the time of placing an order I hit their manual labour holidays, but once it arrives I will let you know if it was a success or a failure, if a success I will do a lengthy write up and how to get hold of it. Currently the wait till it finally arrives is two weeks! It finally got shipped today, but would of been sooner as I wanted to find more aggressive cams with a longer/higher lift before I gave the shipping a go ahead.

Sadly the cams I am finding difficult to find, I did find only one seller in China, but he eventually stopped responding. The camshafts on the 156FMI OHC engine are slightly different to the GY6 engine, you have your two bearing and your two lobes between them, followed by one side with a thick plate being oval or circular with four holes for the sprocket to be fixed onto. The GY doesn’t have this plate, but it does look extremely similar except the lobes are more to the centre whilst the stock cams are more to one side, I am debating to chance a GY camshaft but I am really struggling to think if it would fit at all as the gearing could be different and the sprocket may not fit if everything else by some miracle does.

Also doing the odd oil change in between I also decided to opt for an oil cooler I sourced with fins in America, as in the UK, I was finding a fin based oil cooler to be really expensive. Need to order some more tubing and some banjo bolts as I think I worked out a good place to install an inlet and outlet for the oil during oil changes, since the stock system does have a pump and splash lubrication system running of small pressure.

In preparation to all this I managed to get some generic settings of Chinese engines, which are listed below.

  Setting

Valve Clearance (OHV)*

0.08mm Int & 0.08mm Exh

Valve Clearance (OHC)

0.08mm Int & 0.15mm Exh

6mm Engine Head Nuts

10Nm

8mm Engine Head Nuts

15-20Nm

Cylinder Block Nuts

10Nm

5mm Bolts

5Nm

6mm Bolts

10Nm

8mm Bolts

24Nm

10mm Bolts

35Nm

12mm Bolts

55Nm

Alternator Rotor Bolt

30-40Nm

Rocker Cover Bolts

12Nm

Clutch Nut

30-50Nm

Primary Drive Gear

40-60Nm

Tire Pressure

33PSI +/-3PSI

*Note: Twin Chinese engines even in OHC use same valve clearance configuration as OHV

About Alex

Web designer
This entry was posted in Lexmoto XTR-S and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment